SIE Seeking Nominations for 2018 Alumni of the Year Award

Herb Burton, left, and Sylvia Burton flank scholarship recipient Kyel Powell at the 2016 College of Engineering annual scholarship reception.

Starting with alumnus Herb Burton in 2016, SIE presents its annual SIE Alumni of the Year Award every May during the department's precommencement ceremony.

Burton, who graduated with his bachelor's degree in 1960 and went on to become an executive at AT&T Bell Laboratories, received the award from department head Young-Jun Son in recognition of his strong support of the SIE department. Son also presented alumna Cindy Klingberg with the award in 2017 for numerous contributions to the UA, where she has served on the UA President’s Diversity Advisory Council, the UA Alumni Association Wildcat for Life Leadership Council, the UA Foundation National Leadership Council, and the UA Asian American Faculty, Staff and Alumni Association.

Now, SIE is looking for another name to add to the list of accomplished alumni who have received this honor and is taking nominations now. If you know someone who deserves to be a nominee, download the award criteria and nomination form (PDF) and fill it out by Feb. 15. If you have questions, contact Mia Schnaible at

University of Arizona College of Engineering